ARC Review: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Title: Uninvited
Series:  Uninvited #1
Author: Sophie Jordan
Published: January 28th 2014
Age Group: Young Adult
Genre: Sci-fi Dystopian Romance
Source: Paperback provided by Harper Collins Australia for fair & honest review
Rating: 4.5/5

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

A Dark And Edgy Dystopian That Will Make You Question Everything

And can I just say I love the cover - the DNA in her hair is genius!

Uninvited is a chilling look into a future with genetic profiling, raising the question of much influence a person's life choices are predetermined by their DNA. A new DNA test has been discovered that can detect a 'kill gene', a gene that has been linked to a person becoming a murder. With homicides on the rise in the US, the government uses this test to keep tabs on the 'Carriers' of this gene, to prevent the homocide rate from rising. Most citizens are happy to go along with this scheme, including Davy, believing it will make the country safer. That is until she it found to be a Carrier and she starts to question the validity of the test. She quickly becomes ostracised by her old friends and cast aside by society, with her entire life crumbling around her, she has no one to trust, not even her new Carrier classmates. However after the dark and dangerous Sean comes to her rescue, she starts to see hope that she's not completely alone in this confusing new world.

As the government takes an new heavy handed approach and public hysteria increases, it becomes clear that nowhere is safe for Davy. She is forced into a new and dangerous life, and even Sean can't always be there to save her. And Davy is forced to ask herself, what would it take for her to become the killer everyone believes her to be?

Davy actually starts out as the kind of character I love to hate; wealthy, privileged, attractive, perfect friends and boyfriend etc. But there is a lot more to her than that. From early on she was labeled a musical 'prodigy', with a beautiful voice and playing numerous instruments. She has a very sheltered life and always does the right thing, never wanting to disappoint anyone. However in spite of her 'perfection' I didn't hate her, she's not an arrogant drama queen, she's caring and very innocent. She grew on me very quickly and I loved seeing her grow a lot throughout the story.

Sean is the dark, brooding boy at the back of the Carrier classroom or 'The Cage' as it's known. He's already been 'Marked' as Carrier who has committed an offence and gives of a dangerous 'don't get in my way' vibe. Living with his foster family and other Carrier foster children, his life has always been surrounded by danger, and this is reflected in his personalty. Sean is very closed off at the beginning and it does take a little while to get to know him. But he is worth the wait, he's very loyal to the few that earn his trust and I respected him for that.

At first Sean says very little to Davy, putting on his tough guy persona to protect him from the dangers of being a Carrier. But it's obvious there is a gentler side to him underneath his protective exterior, and it's Davy who he eventually trusts enough to show this side to. He can see that she's very innocent and quickly becomes protective of her. Overtime a tentative friendship is formed and grows very slowly into something more. The romance isn't the main focus of the story, but it's always there in the background slowly developing with a few hot scenes sprinkled throughout - and definitely no insta-love!!

After reading and loving Sophie's Firelight series, this book was a must read for me. Although in saying that this story have a very different feel to it, which only highlights the versatility of her writing. She's created a dystopian world that actually feels plausible, with government corruption and public hysteria giving the world a very claustrophobic feeling. The story progresses nicely, with strong world building & character development and an incredibly powerful ending.

With it's raw and intense storyline, Uninvited gives us a uniquely dark and edgy Dystopian world. I found myself asking if this DNA test was actually causing the murders, rather than preventing them. How many times, does a person have to be told they will be a killer, before they start believing it? I just couldn't stop thinking about it. Uninvited makes you question everything, who would you believe, who would trust, and most importantly, who would you kill for? This one is not to be missed!

Sexuality: mild-medium / heavy kissing and discussions of sex
Violence: strong / regular bashings and frequent references etc of murder (not overly descriptive)
Language: mild
Drugs & alcohol: mild


  1. I previously had no interest in Sophie Jordan's Firelight series, but after reading Uninvited I am officially a fan of hers! This book was so emotional for me, I had to stop several times because it was making me cry at work.

  2. SO happy to see you loved it too! It's such a dark story that was so heartbreaking and made me so sad and angry for Davy all the times.

    I totally get your point: What is really causing the murders, maybe they believe what they've been told and freak out?

  3. I've been eying Uninvited for a while, too, and your review pushed be to finally add it to my TBR shelf. I love dystopias, and when there is something as chilling as DNA profiling, and actually having people be guilty before they even commit a crime is pretty gruesome.

    Thanks for the great review! Happy reading.

    Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews

  4. I'd definitely be reading this one primarily for the romance (that's just who I am! lol) but it sounds like a very nice overall package. The concept of a 'murder' gene is certainly intriguing

  5. You are so right! Sean is worth the wait! I fell in love with him once we got to see who he really is. Great review!

    Teresa @ Readers Live A Thousand Lives

  6. Great Review Amy! I hadn't noticed the DNA in her hair until you pointed it out. That's pretty neat. Just from your review, I can imagine the dangerous dystopian word full of hysteria. 'm glad that it also had a good love story with some great scenes, but no insta-love. I think the question you pose is very valid. If you are told something enough (and especially by all of society,) how long before you will believe it yourself? I can't wait to read this one!

    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

  7. Oh yay so glad you enjoyed the book. I am dying to get my hands on a copy of this book! Thank you so much for sharing. Great review. Totally agree with you on over privileged characters, they can become a bit much to handle. Definitely think I will dig the whole innocent character thing. Yay for romance not that I'm surprised! Loved Sophie Jordan's Firelight Series as well so good to know she doesn't disappoint with her new book.

    Great review as always!!

    Sharrice@ Reese's Reviews: MA2F

  8. Ive only read one of Jordan's books, Foreplay, and I really liked her writing. The reviews from Uninvited all seem to be very positive. I'm glad you enjoyed!

  9. EEEEE, I am so excited. Love hearing this was so good with great characters. This is one of my most anticipated for 2014.


Thanks for stopping by & feel free to leave a comment...I love comments!!! And I'm always happy to spread the comment love around :)